Cutting blanks, need an itty bitty saw

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

redfishsc

Howdy all,

I will be moving soon and leaving my job as a cabinet maker (to my disappointment) but may be getting a similar job when the move is done. Going to Wake Forest NC to go to Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary.

Anyhow, if I wind up working in a church right off the bat rather than in a shop, I'll have no way of cutting blanks from board stock. I'll also be living in an apartment and doing my penturning there. I'll need a small benchtop bandsaw. What's good out there for the price? What used ones should I consider or avoid? I've seen a black and decker for sale but being an industrial carpenter I refuse to buy anything black and decker.

What other options are there out there?

Thanks,

Matt

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimGo

I have a 9" Delta that you can get at HD or Lowes, and I'm pleased with it. You can find them for about $100, and if you add a Timberwolf, you'll be cuttin' without a problem.

terrymiller

Matt you may want to check out the Craftsmen 9" from what I remember when I was looking at the bigger saws the small one had all of the same features as the big ones. I would stay away from the really cheap ones I had the Ryobi 9" and it really was not worth the money.

thetalbott4

You might want to check out the Delta BS150LS 10". This is a 10" that can cut material up 7" thick. It's heavier and sturdier than most of the 9 and 10" models. I got mine from Amazon.com. The blade it comes with is garbage. I use 1/2" wide timberwolf and it cuts through 6" thick Aussie burls. You must set the saw up right, use a high quality blade and dont force stuff through it and it will work great. For your purposes, it would be ideal.

leehljp

Member Liaison