Custom Supply Questions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

WoodenDragon

Local Chapter Leader
I'm still fairly new to this, so I have yet to even see one of the higher end Rollerball or Fountain pens in person. However, I do have a few questions concerning them and a few other things. I am going to be attempting some custom work and would love to be able to narrow down what supplies I might possibly be able to use... So any help would be greatly appreciated!!

· Of all the Rollerball/Fountain pens, which models would have the most amount of material left on the blanks if turned down to the bushings and roughly what would you estimate that thickness of material left to be?

· What is the thinnest you can turn a blank without compromising its strength too much? I am assuming this will depend on the blank material.
o So what materials would allow me to get it as close to the tube as possible?

· Has anyone around here ever used the M3 Solid Metal Pen Blanks before?
o How has your experience been?
o Is it hard on the turning tools?
o Would it be possible to carve this material with hand carving tools or a rotary tool?
o Are any of their materials softer then one another or are they pretty much the same regardless of the type?

Many thanks in advance!!!

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam
Responses embedded to save typing.

I'm still fairly new to this, so I have yet to even see one of the higher end Rollerball or Fountain pens in person. However, I do have a few questions concerning them and a few other things. I am going to be attempting some custom work and would love to be able to narrow down what supplies I might possibly be able to use... So any help would be greatly appreciated!!