Creating an inventory program...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

webmonk

Hi folks,

I'm new to turning (less than a year with a few hundred pens turned and a handful of bowls, etc) but what I'm running into already is a problem keeping track of the kits, blanks, etc that I have here in the shop. I'm a web developer/programmer by trade, so my solution to most problems I come across is to let the computer deal with it and I don't see why this should be any different.

As I'm sitting here in the planning stage I started thinking that others are probably having the same problem I am, but since you guys have WAY more experience than I, you'd know what kind of tools would actually make things better versus me just guessing at it and changing the system later. So if you're interested, here's the chance! Here are some of my initial thoughts just to get the idea rolling. Please add your own and/or ask questions!

Track number kits, blanks, bushings, drill bits.
Include attributes such as finish type, blank measurements, bushing diameters.

These two things alone would allow for some interesting tools. For instance, I'm a big fan of platinum finishes with very dark woods. I could simply ask the system what's avaiable and get a list of all possible combinations that fit that criteria. Or if you've got turner's block why not let the system randomly generate selections of kits and materials that it's sure you have the materials for and (if you want to go through with measuring blanks) that the blanks are actually the right size for the kits.

The system could also generate warnings for when you're getting low on certain supplies/kits/etc. And if it's doing that, why not have it check the various online shops and find the best deal on the combination of stuff you need to order?

Anyway, that's enough to get started with I think. All ideas/suggestions welcomed!

melogic

Webmonk, first of all welcome to the IAP.