cracked edges

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

sigge

Hi everyone...

I am fairly new to pen turning but have done a few good ones lately... But i seem to have a recurring problem. I have mostly turned acryllics lately and onall the pens I seem to get cracks at the edges near the bushings on the finished product. Before assembling the pen so it is not due to exessive force on the drill press. The crack/s can be anything from 2-3 mm up to a cm.

Any ideas what I am doing wrong?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mickr

are your tools sharp? How hard are you pushing on the blank? The ends are usually the thinest..take it slow & keep the tools sharp

tseger

Did you make sure you cleaned ALL the dried ca from the ends of the tubes? Sometimes this residue left inside the tube ca cause splitting during assembly.

sigge

Hi everyone...

The tools are brand new so they are sharp. MudPuppie, the blank is cut flush with the tube. I square the ends before i start turning. But how do you mean not tightened up on just the blank? How do you mean? I thought that maybe i tightenened the knob on the mandrel to much but i tried looser and still i got a small crack. :(

Regards
Johan

el_d

Hi Johan, I have had this problem happen to me before and my problem was that when turning I cut from the center of the blank out towards the edges of the blank. I guess the cuting force broke the acrylic as I moved towards the thinner/weaker ends of the blank. Try working from the ends towards the center and see if it stops the chipping.

mickr

Hi everyone...

The tools are brand new so they are sharp. MudPuppie, the blank is cut flush with the tube. I square the ends before i start turning. But how do you mean not tightened up on just the blank? How do you mean? I thought that maybe i tightenened the knob on the mandrel to much but i tried looser and still i got a small crack. :(

Regards
Johan