Couple of Questions on "Difficult" Wood

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

David Moore

I couldn't resist picking up some Gabon Ebony, Snakewood and Purpleheart today at my local hardwood dealer. Reading on the IAP site I'm discovering none of these is too easy to work with and since I am a newbie at this I'm thinking I may have made a mistake in buying these particular woods. But since I am always game to try I'll probably give it a shot. Couple of questions: Would using these woods in small amounts in segmented pens give me less chance of splitting or tearouts? Also the ebony is green. I'm thinking of just storing it for a while but wondered whether I should cut it into blank-sized pieces or leave it as the 1x4 size it is now while I store it?

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

nava1uni

I can't tell you about the ebony drying, but I can tell you that it requires very sharp tools and can crack easily. Purple heart is not difficult to work with, but its' dust can be irritating to the skin and lungs if you have a sensitivity. I have avoided snakewood due to its propensity to crack, even after a length of time.

sbwertz

I'm a beginner...I've been turning since March. Through sheer ignorance, one of the first woods I tried to turn was wenge. It proved difficult, but since I had 16 blanks, I was determined to learn to turn it. I still have some of the blanks, but learned a lot about "difficult" wood from turning it.

Helpful hint number one...don't try to turn wenge and lauan crossgrain :mad:. The first try at segmented blanks I made blanks from wenge and lauan and rosewood. They were made as a slab and sliced at an angle, which resulted in them being cross grained. Of six blanks, I only managed to successfully turn one of them, but I learned a LOT.