Corian and CSUSA Slimlines

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jasontg99

I was just wondering if anyone else has experienced issues with CSUSA black TI slimline kits and corian? I have used PSI slimline kits and corian with no issues, but I recently bought some CSUSA kits because they are cheaper AND I like the clips better. I made 6 corian pens and out of the 6, three cracked with the CSUSA kits. Oh yea, I also used a chmfering bit after the first one cracked, but it did not seem to help with the rest. Am I the only one?

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

johnnycnc

I have no direct experience with those kits and corian to relate, but will throw out a couple thoughts here.
The fittings may be tighter in the tubes, so when you press them in the tube
there is not enough expansion room between the outside of tube and inside of hole.
two things to maybe look at.. drill size and glue.
A 9/32" drill will give more room for expansion than a 7mm drill.
A super rigid glue bond like CA or even epoxy will also contribute, many have had
great luck with the polyurethane type glues.

jasontg99

Thanks johnnyc,

Guess I should have mentioned the tubes are "glued in" with epoxy from PSI. So I assume the polyurathane glues remain flexible?

johnnycnc

I can't say on the poly glue.I used it a few times, but settled on epoxy myself.
Some one else will chime in shortly, no doubt.:biggrin:

bgio13