Contest Entry, Beginner

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

fireflex8263

I entered this in the Novice category for the pen turning contest and would like to get some feedback from you all. Positive or negative. I'm still learning, Thanks

Troy

2004112332121_fireflex8263_photo2a.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PenWorks

I like all desk sets. And I like the natural look. Both my entries had some type of natural look. Very nice job. Remember, all entries are winners!

Daniel

Troy,
My first impression when I saw it was that I liked it. I would like ot see a larger version tough. It's hard to see the detail.
Next, You managed to get a very good picture that will show the details if it is large enough.
I have a bias for Deer antler so my opinion is a bit colored by that.
There is a consistant "Hand Made" quality to the whole piece. Pen, Stand And Base. A bit on the made due with what was on hand feel but still looks good. and creative. It does leave me with the desire to see what you could do if you had ample selection of materials though.
I appreciate the extra details in the pen considering you are working with antler. Not the easiest material to work with in the first place and you went just a bit beyond simply getting it turned.
the biggest drawback I see with it is three distinct pieces, A Pen, The stand (Antler piece) and the Base. and they don't really look like they go together. This is where I even get lost. i can't tell you exactly why. but it lends to that "Made Due effect" It also lends to the overall Handmade effect which I do like.
What I like:
the lines and formes are not Machined to the nth degree giving the piece a hand made look.
the dual use of Antler in the piece.
the use of Brushed nickle finish with the antler.
the base has a very much hand cut and finished look about it.
What is missing: