Complete list of supplies needed

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jroach21

I have been looking at the forum for sometime now and I have been a little overwhelmed by the information. I am in the process of building a house that has a garagae that will be used half for storage and the other half will be my wood working area. I am very new to this, most of my tools are being given to me by my dad (drill press, band saw). What I was hoping to find was a complete list of all tools to help me get started. I plan on going to Rockler and talking to the people in the store about what they sell, but I didn't want them to tell me to buy a tool, if I really don't need it. I plan on buying my tools on the internet to save money, but my local Rockler will be a good place to stop and look at the new stuff that is out. So, can anyone tell me all tools needed on the first day? I know I need a lathe, but what else?

Thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
That is such a hard request. People have different ways of doing things, one way works for some while another works for someone else. The most used tools in my shop are the band saw and the lathe. I do all my drilling on my lathe for my pens but if I were making other things the drill press would get more use. I haven't turned on my table saw for a few years and it isn't even in my shop. I use my metal lathe as well for a few jobs. I would say to start out slow and purchase what you need as you need it. Never purchase on impulse and don't purchase just because you can. I have found that most of the tools that I purchase on impulse or just because I can don't get used enough to justify them. I also use my dremel for a lot of small jobs.

stonepecker

What do you plan on doing? With the answer to that question, that will help to anser what you are asking. Joining a local woodworking club wouldn't be a bad thing to do.....the advice is well worth your time and effort.