Colored MDF - pen blanks?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

YoYoSpin

Has anyone successfully turned MDF? I ran across a fairly new product this week while at the Furniture Society conference in Victoria BC...colored MDF.

Here's a link to the manufacturer’s site: http://www.greatlakesmdf.com/gl_spect_new/gl_spectn.htm.

The sales rep I spoke to said he was not aware of anyone trying to turn it. I picked up some samples today and will have them with me at the AAW symposium in Portland next week. If anyone would like to have a look, let me know and I’ll bring them to the Friday night Special Interest Group get together.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Texatdurango

Never tried turning it but did use some slices on some experimental segments then turned the blank with no problems, just some fuzzy sanding required. Looks like their bright colors might do well in segment designs and accent bands.

rhahnfl

I'm really new to turning. I checked the link and I think they would make good looking pens. Heck... they make them out of cactus, snake skin, and I've even seen copper scrub pads and wood laminated with aluminum so far. Isn't MDf basically just wood chip material bonded together with resin? I bet with a sharp tool and a light touch you could about turn anything. [8D]

Or so I've been led to believe!!! [:D]

Glad you got to go and share this with us. Thanks!!!

tseger

This is one that I turned from a piece I found on a pallet at work. I dont know if it's the same thing or not. Ya'll tell me. This is not dyed, just turned sanded w/mm and finished with ca.

hughbie

the thought of using mdf is a curious one. try one plain? then try different color stains? the use of a stabilizer is almost a must though.
you guys always get me to thinkin of stuff........there are times where i think my head will explode

YoYoSpin

Chuckie,