collet chuck problem

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

darbytee

I just got my Axminster Jr collet chuck on Friday. I put it on the spindle and gave it a turn and had a wobble of over 1/4" at the end of the mandrel bar. The bar was brand new but I checked it anyhow and it's straight. Anyone got any insight on this? I've never used a collet chuck before, so operator error is possible, but it seems pretty straightforward.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fred in NC

Two questions: Mandrel size, and collet size.

Collets are designed to hold a round bar of a certain size, with tolerances in the thousands of an inch. For a regular mandrel you should be using a 1/4" collet, which 'most likely hold a mandrel which is just a bit smaller in diameter, usually about .246".

Your mandrel might be too small in diameter, or the collet tolerance not sufficient to go down to that size.

Another question, how did you tighten it?

darbytee

Fred, It is a 1/4" collet with a standard mandrel bar (berea A size from WC). As for tightening, I used the breaker bar to tighten the chuck onto the spindle and hand-tightened the bar into the chuck.

low_48

Some collet chucks are self ejecting when you loosen the nut. You must press the collet into the backside of the nut before putting it in the chuck. You have to put the collet on the bench, then press quite firmly on the nut on the collet to force a taper over a ring in the nut. You will hear a firm clunk when it is pressed in correctly. The collet will then stay in the nut . To remove the stock from the collet you will loosen the nut for a few turns. It will then firm up and if you put the wrench back on it will pop the collet off the taper inside the chuck. Your stock will be free. Lots of words, and I don't even know if this chuck works like that. Router collets and CNC tooling work this way.

Rich

its_virgil