CNC Question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

ldimick

I have a chance to buy a CNC machine at a good price.

I have no experience using a CNC and I need some ansdwers. I hope you people can help.

Can a CNC machine do a good job of detailed engraving? How close to laser can it get?

Can a CNC cut bands that are as detailed as the Statesman and Jr Statesman?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

swm6500

As far as I know, CNC is just the control part of a machine. The machine can be a milling machine, lathe or something else. Bruce would probably be the expert on this.

wrightal3

I have a friend who is a luthier making very expensive & sought after instruments. He uses his CNC for almost everything now. Some of his inlay work is so fine and detailed it is amazing. Some of his bits are from the dental industry. If you can program it, the machine can do it.

kghinsr

Lynn
you did not say whether it is a lathe or milling machine.
the cnc machine is only as good as the program running it.
buying a machine at a good price will still require to spend many hours
learning how to get it from the computor to the machine.
as for the laser it is not the same machine as a cnc
you will not get the same output
I have done cnc for 3 yrs now and I'm still learning
ken
western pa

Fred in NC

Lynn, as stated above, there are many kinds of CNC machines. You did not state whether the machine you are looking at is a lathe or a mill. There are CNC machines designed for shops making parts, and some are designed for jewelry, where the piece is very small and a high degreee of detail and precision are required. Roland makes CNC mills for jewelry use. Most CNC jewelry is cut from machinable WAX and the wax used to cast the actual part.