cleaning metal lathe parts of oil

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

chris99210

Santa was good to me this year and I received a metal lathe - oh boy! The lathe is clean but many of the parts are in plastic bags and they are covered in oil; that includes the drive and live centers. What's the best solvent to use to clean the oil and the best method? Coffee can and submerge them? Does the live center need oil for its bearings or can I submerge it to clean it as well without damaging it?

Thanks,
Chris

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Aerotech

i'm no professional, but the oil is used as a preservative to prevent oxidation and corrosion. i would simply wipe them down with a clean dry rag rather then submerge in a dry cleaning solvent. just my 2 cents

jeff

Administrator
Staff member
I'd just wipe everything as dry as you can with paper towels or shop rags, then spray on a little degreaser like Simple Green or a citrus-based formula and wipe off again.

randyrls

I agree with Jeff. Get a gallon of WD40, pour some in a can, use a stiff bristle brush to clean the parts. Use plenty of ventilation or outside (brrr).

Every week or every time you stop using the lathe, wipe down the exposed metal surfaces with an oil soaked rag. Keep the rag in an empty quart paint can.

KenV

the primary material in WD-40 is oderless mineral spirits also known as stoddard solvent (drycleaning) or odorless kerosene. Works well and costs about 1/2 the price.

Also works well for "wet sanding" of varnishes, lacquer, or CA finishes.

Squirt bottle or squeese bottles work well.

BKelley

Depending on the type of oil that is on the lathe. Is it that thick heavy red grease that Grizzly, Harbor Freight and other lathes of this type? If it is the red grease, use kerosene and brush. If it is just light weight oil, you can just wipe everything down with blue shop towels. I would not surmerge the live center, just wipe it down good.