Cigar kit question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Sev3en

I'm new to turning and am making my first Cigar pen (kit not realistic) and I mistakenly shaved off a little more than planned when squaring of the lower blank.

My calipers show it is 0.024 in short. How big of an issue is this and what to do about it if it is? Will re do it if I must. I just have very little experience in final fitting and how much if any room for error there is.

Cheers

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fish30114

I think the answer depends on a couple of things, do you mean that you had the piece (wood or acrylic) turned with the brass tube in it and you trimmed that too short? If that is the case I would just put assemble the pen and see if there is enough tolerance in the kit to allow that much (pretty small) variance, especially if you have the other side turned already.

This may be the time where you learn about the appropriate gripping pliars and transfer punches you need to disassemble a pen! If you don't have the other end of the pen turned, you can measure the parts and see if they would fit together and accommodate the shorter piece--I think most cigar kits I have used would still work with that small of a variance.

On my first few cigar kits, purchased from Rockler, they had tubes that were too short in a couple of them, and I was befuddled when I put them together and had a gap in between the upper and lower tubes!

I don't buy Cigar kits from Rockler anymore either...

Good luck-let us know how it works out.

Sev3en

I cut the blank, drilled it, glued the tube in, and was squaring off the end of the blank getting it ready to put on the lathe. I use a carbide cutter and reamer set up on my hand held drill. Lost focus for a second and shaved off part of tube. I turned it round to rid the ends of their excess so that I could get an accurate measure. So that is where it sits as of now.