Which chuck

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

sandking

I have a Jet Mini lathe. I would like to buy a chuck for the tailstock. I will be using a fostner bit to drill out the back of my bottle stoppers to glue in a coin and other functions.

I also have a Craft Supply gift certificate to use.

My question is would you recommend a keyless chuck or keyed chuck. The price difference really isn't a problem. I'm new to turning to seeking advice.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Randy_

I don't know what the answer is; but consider the following. Since you aren't likely to be change your bits 20 or 30 times a session, it doesn't seem like speed of operation would be a major consideration?

I have a keyless chuck on my hand drill and it will slip occasionally if I don't get the chuck tight or use a big bit in really tough material. Since you will be using a Forstner bit in end grain, the resistance to drilling is likely to be fairly high. I wonder if using a keyed chuck will be a better way of assuring that it is closed as tightly as possible??

Mikey

I would also use a keyed check as the forstner bit will most likely slip in a keyless chuck. If you are worried about losing it, why not spray it yellow or dip it in that plastidip or some other bright material.

sandking

I have a drill press with a keyless chuck and sometimes it's a pain to make sure the bit is centered while trying to tighten the chuck. I figured I'd ask to see what others thought. I think I'll go with the keyed chuck.

For those that fear losing the key. I saw a tip in a woodworking magazine to take one of those key rings that are on a retractable wire (similar to what a custodian would use) and use an earth magnet to attach to the drill press and the key gets attached to the other end.

Randy_