Chips out of Acrylic blank

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

LarryS

I'm having trouble with chips out of my Acrylic pen blanks.

I'm fairly new to pen turning and really new to turning Acrylic blanks. I started out turning with a gouge and that was leaving chips in the blank that I had to sand. Then I went and bought some Easy Start Rougher, Finisher, and Detailer and still same results. I thought I wasn't taking out to much material when I was turning, but I just don't know what I'm doing wrong? I end up sanding and sanding alot. Dry sanding and wet sanding. The method I was using to sharpen the gouge was my belt sander. That is one reason I went out and bought the East Start Tools.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated !!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
What is the temperature in the room you are turning?

Where are the blanks stored, what is the temperature?

What "acrylic" are you turning.

Tell me these things and I can give you tips, without them I can only guess.

LarryS

It's not very warm. I probably started out turning at 32 degrees.
I did leave this blank out in the cold shop.
Not sure about the acrylic? It is from Woodcraft and it just says Solid Pink Acrylic Pen Blank.
The other blank I turned I had it in the house before turning and it did the same thing. That one was Pink Quartz Acrylic Pen Blank from Woodcraft. This one did not chip nearly as bad as the Solid Pink.

csr67

I'm new to this as well, and I've turned several acrylic pens with my Easy Woodworker tools with no issues. Are your Rpm's high enough? Also, make sure you're holding the carbide tools level to the ground and taking light passes. I also found it critical to have the tool rest at the proper height. I found the easy carbide tools cut best when the cutting edge is just below the center line of the blank. Keep at it and you'll soon have nice ribbons of shavings flying off the tool.