Chippy question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

AndyM

Hey all.

I am fairly new here, so 1st off: A big hello.

I have been turning for about 6 months, and finally got around to pens. I love the wood aspect, haven't tired acrylic yet but some on order, but I have been playing arund with soapstone.

My question to you all is this:

I can cut, drill and mount the stone very easily, but it keeps cracking at the ends. Is this due to pressure being applied by the mandrel? If so, how can I combat this? I have been advised that I should wet the stone, see if the water seeps in anywhere then coat with CA glue. But I am not convinced that CA would hold.

I had managed to get 1 pen turned and put together (attached photo) but noticed after the ends of the stone had chipped. I imagine this is from the pressure of putting together? Again, same question: any way to combat this?

I love the effect the stone brings, and am determind to figure this out, but any helpful advice more than welcome..

Many thanks

Andy

Attachments

• Soapstone.jpg
    Soapstone.jpg
    13.1 KB · Views: 231
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rjwolfe3

First, welcome to the forum. I have never tried soapstone so I can't help you with your question but I know someone will be along to answer it. The pen looks great btw.

mickr

Hi newbie..join the insanity..I do believe that soapstone is not a material that is appropriate for pens for the very reason you are having trouble..it's so soft, people carve by hand..don't know if there is such a thing as stabilized soapstone...try tru-stone..it is engineered from stone & makes glorious pens

skiprat

Passed Away Mar 22, 2022
In Memoriam
Hiya Andy, welcome to IAP. :biggrin: