Chatter on outboard blank

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

JerryO

I'm new to pen turning, have turned about 15 pens in the last two weeks. I have a Rikon mini with a CS mandrel. I've so far just been turning slimlines, and I notice that on most turnings, when I turn the outboard blank I get chatter and howling. Am I doing something wrong? The inboard half is always smooth as silk. Is my mandrel flexing or something? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jerryconn

You got it, your mandrel is flexing. You can reverse the bushing and blanks on your mandrel so you are always turning near the headstock. Or, sharpening your tool of choice really well and take light cuts, some guys put a finger or two behind the blank opposite the tool to add support. I'm sure others will offer their methods to reduce chatter.

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Is your mandrel supported by a 60 degree live center? One common source of vibration is the end of the mandrel "whipping".

Dario

I agree with Jerry. Finish the barrel close to the headstock then swap it with the outer one.

Check your headstock and tailstock alignment too.

After using various mandrels and messing with chatter that usually lead to out of round or non-concentric pens, I (rather my wife) got me a Beall collet chuck. Problem solved. It may look expensive but the benefit really pays off. Note that accurate turnings finish much faster, better and easier too. If you choose to sell your pens later...will fetch higher $$$$$ too [;)]

FYI, If I used all the money I wasted using the cheaper mandrels...I could have bought another Beall chuck actually.

JerryO