Center Drill prior to larger Drill

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

brownsfn2

I have read many places that you can get a more accurate hole in your stock if you use a center drill first followed by the larger drill bit you are using for the tube.

I have a 60 degree center bit that is 5/16" in diameter and a norseman magnum series drill bit that is 135 degree split point drill bit. I am using the 12.5 mm for the cap of a Jr Gent II. The drill chuck I am using is the keyless chuck from PSI. Lathe speed is 1000 RPM.

I can use the center drill just fine and I drill in to just before the end of the flute on the center drill. Then I chuck up the drill bit and when I try to start drilling it shudders horribly and will not cut straight in. The hole at the beginning of the blank is larger than at the end.

I need to master this since I eventually want to do kitless and I know I need to drill accurate holes.

I have only used the drill bit 3 times so I know it is sharp and the wood I am drilling is olive wood so it is not too hard.

Am I drilling with too large of a center bit? Maybe my chuck is not accurate? I am just not sure. I am hoping someone else has had thsi problem in the past or maybe I am doing something wrong.

Thanks for any help!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

flyitfast

I totally agree with drilling on the lathe.

Center drills come in different sizes. Harbor Freight has a set for about $5 that includes 5 different sizes. I think there is a HF in Dublin. If the hole opening is too big, maybe a smaller center drill would fit the size drill you are using for the hole for the tube.
Lathe speed varies with the material being drilled. You may be a little fast for drilling, particularly for acrylics.
Also, don't forget to back the drill out every so often to clear the chips. If the chips backup then it will really make the drill hot and too much for the material. I cool mine with a spray bottle of water. Some people use Pam.