Capped Pens - Need Help Please

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

KGP

Hello everyone:

I am a novice pen maker, have only made some simple twist pens so far. But I was recently asked to make a nice capped pen to be used for a gift. So I ordered a couple of screw-cap and snap-cap pen kits from PSI and Woodcraft.

I made these up, and they look OK, but I am concerned about the quality of the threads on the screw cap pen ("Classic Elite Rollerball" from PSI for example). Seems like they are very fine and could easily be cross-threaded if the user is not very careful. Is it general knowledge among the pros here that this type of cheap pen kit is not recommended?

Also, the similar snap-cap pen from Woodcraft seems very sensitive to the way the snap mechanism is adjusted. I set it once and exercised the cap on and off a few hundred times and it loosened up and needed re-adjustment. Is this type of pen kit also prone to problems and should I stay away from it? I just don't see many snap-cap pen kits out there to choose from. If someone can recommend a supplier for a better kit I'd sure appreciate it because I'm very new at this hobby and not sure of all potential sources for pen kits.

I noticed some other kits, for example, the Streamline American Screw Cap kit from Berea and the Baron from Arizona Silohouette. Anyone have experience with these, and are the threads on these pens considered superior to that one I tried from PSI?

Finally, those great looking kits like Gentleman's, Emporer, and Statesmen are screw-cap and based on all the discussion and pics of those here I assume they are better quality threads. Is that true? (Unfortunatley, right now I'm looking for a cap that fits on back of pen or I'd use one of those).