Can you tell me what wood these blanks are made from?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bigthin13

Hi there! I'm just starting out in the world of pen turning and purchased a pack of 12 blanks. I know there's probably nothing in there that's too special since I only paid $10.00 for all 12 blanks but I'd like to know what types of wood these blanks are cut from since the package didn't have any information. If you could help me out, I'd really appreciate it! Thank you so much for your time!

Attachments

• thumbnail_image1.jpg
    thumbnail_image1.jpg
    288.7 KB · Views: 254
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
4 is purpleheart, 9 likely walnut 5 likely paduak 6 likely yellowheart

guess 1 maple
guess 12 holly

Last edited:

bigthin13

Thanks A TON for all of the help so far! I really appreciate it! Still looking for possible ID's on numbers 2 and 7. Thanks again!

1080Wayne

Agree with Ed on 1, 4, 5, 9 and 12 , Mal on 3 , Charlie on 10 . Note the liklies and maybes . Padouk , walnut and sapele all have different but distinctive fairly strong smells when sanded . Is 12 a little bit blue/gray or is that a lighting or camera angle effect ?
That leaves 2 and 7 for me to guess at , and as usual I haven`t a clue .

leehljp

Member Liaison
7 looks like ash. (baseball bat ash) 12 looks like holly. 1 & 10 look like maple. the lighting affects the colors further out from the center. 3 "reminds" me of some hairy oak that I have but the grain is a bit closer on that blank.

Last edited:

1080Wayne

Hank probably correct on 7 . One of the best ways to distinguish between woods is their end grain appearance . It is a bit more basic to a tree than skin colour because it shows their internal structure . Sand an end on each to at least 220 grit and give us another picture . (No need to do 4 - we are positive about that one .)