Can someone advise?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

bkc

I'm getting ready to order the stuff to make a couple Havana ballpoint pens from CSUSA. On the page for it they list two drill bits, 27/64 and a 35/64. But when I found an 'accessory kit' to use (bushings and bits), it says the bit sizes are 31/64 and 35/64. So what do I need???? I sure don't want to buy one that isn't needed [:I]

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

its_virgil

When you call in the order tell them of the different bit sizes on the website and let them sort it out. I would help but I've not made the ball point in that kit so I have no first hand knowledge. They need to make the corrections and would probably like to know of the mistake.
Do a good turn daily!Don
Originally posted by bkc
<br />I'm getting ready to order the stuff to make a couple Havana ballpoint pens from CSUSA. On the page for it they list two drill bits, 27/64 and a 35/64. But when I found an 'accessory kit' to use (bushings and bits), it says the bit sizes are 31/64 and 35/64. So what do I need???? I sure don't want to buy one that isn't needed [:I]

Rifleman1776

Best advice possible: Don't do Havana's. They are nothing but problems. Parts often don't fit. Turning can be a pain, tiny overcuts will ruin a project. As you have seen, with this kit, CS doesn't have their act together. Confusing/conflicting drill bit size reccomendations are only part of the problems you may encounter.

bgray

The lesson that I've learned when it comes to which bits for which kits....

Ignore the instructions. There's PLENTY of kits out there that truly do not have a drill bit recommendation that it appropriate.

Use your calipers, drill some test holes, and figure out the best bit for yourself.

Unfortunately, sometimes this means getting into the letter bits, or odd millimeter bits....for example, the Churchill/El Grande cap is best drilled with a 13.3mm bit.