Can I stabilize a penblank half turned? Will it help?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
First- I'm new at this. Under a month, about 17 pens so far.

I tried to turn an unstabilized punky, wormy, spalted box elder. It chunked out on me when i got close to being done, about 3/16 thick, maybe a bit less.
Since i really love the look of it and I have several more blanks, is it possible to stabilize it when almost completed? How do I do it, just pour thin CA on it and let it dry before completing it?

Is there a better way? How hard/expensive is it to stabilize my own blanks?

Edit to ask: Who sells good inexpensive stabilized blanks?

Thanks for the info,

Gregory of ChunksWhizzingByMyFreakyLargeMelon Forest

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dario

Thin CA as you mentioned is the key. You might have to do it several times as you go deeper though.

Depending on how punky the wood is, same treatment might be needed as you drill. If you drill a punky wood, you might get some tearouts inside that might show up on a turned pen.

BTW, CA cures super fast on spalted wood. Creates a lot of heat and nasty fume so be careful.

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Another thought: When you drill the blanks, soak the inside in thin CA, you will have to redrill. But, this hardens the wood you will actually be USING for your pen. CAN be helpful.

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
oh, if you get the blank real hot when you redrill, your bit will become a permanent addition to the blank.

Wait a day so it dried thoroughly and don't let it get TOO hot in the redrill.

nava1uni