Can I make a living making pens?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hi,

I'm sure this question has been asked before.

I'm new to turning and would like to do it full time. Would I be able to make a good living selling my pens? If so, where's best to sell as I don't have craft fairs near me.(small town in the UK)

Should I advertise on eBay or ask local shops if I can place my products with them?

How much do you sell your pens for? I've sold two slimline out of the four that I've made. £35 each, which included a nice display case and a refill.

Do wood pens sell better than acrylic and do high end pens sell better than the cheaper kits?

Thank you for any information.

LittleMissCreative.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

robutacion

G'day,

Unfortunately, your main question has no simple answer...!

Most of those making a living out of making pens today, are individuals that have spent a great number of years perfecting their techniques and materials to use.

Is a big difference between, making a few pens to make a little extra money to support the main income than is to make a living out of it.

I wouldn't consider pen making to be a career that could be matched or compared with the most common career directions people make a living from in today's world however, I understand why people get so hooked and excited when first starting turning pens.

That can explain the large number of "aged" people that took on pen turning as they preferred past time due to its immediate gratification however, if you are good with tools and have a creative mind and produce something that is "different" than what we see everyday, you may have good chances to make a living out of it.

Marketing is the "killer", the know how, when and to whom/where can be the deciding factor that, so many struggle with.

In any case, the best of luck...!

Cheers
George

tjseagrove