Call me the "Mandrel Bender " :-)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TonyL

Well....I am in in this hobby for two weeks and 14 pens and I have bent two mandrels. Something tells me they are supposed to last juts a little longer than that :). There seems to be a fine line (figurative line), between too loose and blanks spinning and too tight and mandrel bending. My first acrylic pen took me almost 3 hours, now I am way down from that, but I am definitely more aggressive with my turning.

Should the blanks spin every once in a while when squaring of the corners or is that an indication to tighten move the tall stock toward the head stock?

Using Easy Tools - if that helps.

Thank you!

walshjp17

glen r

I've been turning between centers for a few years now but every once in a while I turn a kit that seems to work better using a mandrel and the bushings. When I first started turning I bought a mandrel saver and found that over tightening the mandrel nut is a problem of the past.

TonyL

"Sadly", I am bending them WITH the mandrel saver. I just must have my tail stock in too close. Thank you for the advice.

Hendu3270

You're turning with bushings, right? Are you using a bunch of spacers between the blank and the mandrel saver by chance?

Have you looked to make sure your centers line up and something isn't out of whack?

Oh, and if I've not secured the tailstock against the blank enough and it spins, I tighten so it doesn't spin. Not enough to break anything, but to prevent the spin.

Last edited:

kovalcik

If you are bending mandrels while using a mandrel saver, then I think the issue is too much force from your tools or while sanding. My guess is you are doing mostly 2 barrel pens so the exposed mandrel is fairly long. Keep the working part of the mandrel as short as short as possible (use minimal spacers) and use a light touch with your tools and while sanding.

Last edited:

larryc

I thought you told me you had a Mandrel Saver?