CA PROBLEMS

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Leather Man

Have any of you that use CA ever had problems after using it? If I get the slightest whif of the fumes while using CA it stuffs my nose so bad I can not breath for two to three weeks without using a nose spray. I do wear a resperator but, sometimes I breath some of the fumes and it hits me the next day. I also had my DC running as well. Any ideas as to what else I can do to help? I do like the CA/BLO finish. Thanks for any ideas you can help with.
Ben

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rogerpjr

I am an Industrial Hygienist (worker health and safety) by trade and I thought people may want some info on CA.

CA (and all isocyanate products) is considered a sensitizer. The more a person is exposed to it, the more sensitized they become and the reaction usually occurs quicker and more severely over time. However, everyone is affected differently to exposure, either by contact or breathing, and some are not affected at all. Typical reactions from breathing are with respiratory problems. Reactions can be mild to so severe that breathing can actually stop. People with respiratory ailments like asthma are most susceptible to severe reactions. Contact can result in the same symptoms, but usually cause a skin reaction that can be just itching or buning to hives. Personally, I have become more sensitzed over the years to CA vapors with a reaction that causes extreme tearing in my eyes. I try to keep use of the CA to in front of my dust collector hood so the vapors are pulled away from my face.