CA Glue vs Epoxy for Gluing Tubes in Blanks and Recommendations

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wfsteadman

I posted earlier about squaring pen blanks and how my tubes have been coming out of my acrylic reverse painted blanks, and someone mentioned it might not be the pen mill but maybe the gluing process. I have only used Medium CA for gluing tubes in, but interested in how others do it. I have heard of two part epoxy and wanted to get opinions about it and maybe recommendations on brand of Epoxy and where to buy. THANKS IN ADVANCE.

I use a medium CA that I got from woodcraft it is 2P-10 and says professional wood formula so might not be very good for Acrylic Blanks...

dachshund1

I use 2-part, 30-minute clear epoxy - and almost always allow the glue to cure overnight.

This also lets me mix up enough adhesive to do several sets of blanks before it sets up.

Never had a problem, but I'm a true hobbyist (i.e., not under the production gun).

As always, YMMV.

Terry

MTViper

I use Barrel Bond a 5 minute open time epoxy sold at Woodcraft and Rockler. Comes in tubes like toothpaste and mixes easily. It expands to fill voids between the blank and tube. I think it's the best product I've used and I've been through most of the others. I make sure I'm never out of it. Never had a tube/blank fail since I started using it.

Sataro

I've never used any epoxy for gluing my brass tubes in. I've always used thick CA & give it 24 hrs to setup. I've also used medium CA without any issues. Several years now doing it this way. No major problems with CA for my part. Still I need to try the epoxy route, I may find I like it better!

jttheclockman

Hello, that Fast Cap 2P-10 is basically for gluing wood to wood and needs the accelerator to cure it for a strong bond. It is not meant to glue wood to metal or acrylic to metal as with wood and acrylic blanks to the metal tubes.