CA finish thoughts

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Neededwill

So I have been trying to get my process of a CA finish down. I 2 do pens at a time of the same wood, one with a CA finish and one with a friction finish. I have found some like the look and feel of either. But today I was doing a CA finish and I decided to let the towel grab a glue a little on the 3rd coat then on the 6th coat of 10 total coats of thin CA. I actually like how it came out, it has a very small feel of a friction finish. Just a very small amount of porus so it doesn't just look so glossy you are afraid to touch it. I have found most people want the durability of a CA finish but the feel of real wood.

I just wanted to pass my thoughts and trials on, I am sure someone else has done this before.

Thanks for reading!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Boz

Between the smell, the mess and the high potential for failure with CA finishes. I much prefer PU. Takes longer but I am not a production house. The feel is great and very durable.

plantman

Just my opinion, but, if you are having a smell, mess, and failure problems with a CA finish, your not doing it correctly. I use all types of finishes on my pens, and CA is the fastest, easyest, and most durable finish of all. I do, however, agee with the glass like feel of the finish as not being for everyone. Being a car nut however, glass is class. Jim S

Neededwill

Boz what is PU? The CA finish is just as fast as a friction and the smell or mess is not there at all. There is a light smell but proper ventilation takes care of that.

Jim Burr

Banned
CA done right is The Finish. WOP is good, stands up well, can be knocked down for a matte or gloss finish.

MarkD

One thing I have done a few times when people don't want the real glossy finish is to sand through the MM pads as usual ( habit ) , then work backwards with the MM until you get more of a satin finish. Stop when you get the finish your looking for.

raar25