CA Finish

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

scrofts1219

I have been finishing pens with CA for a couple years now. I use thin CA sold as Pen Finish by woodturnerscatalog.com and have been happy with it. The other day I ran out and decided to use Medium CA. Same brand. It seemed to work okay and I liked doing fewer coats. Is there any particular reason to use one vs the other? I was trained in the beginning to always use thin for finishing.

Sent from my iPhone using Penturners.org mobile app

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

I have always used medium CA with 10 coats.

10 coats of medium sure does build the diameter of a pen blank.

For me 3 thin and about 4 coats med is all I need to get a nice shine and do not have to overturn a blank to fit a kit. No fast rule on weather you use thin, med or any other finish. Just another method. Add yours to the long list.

lhowell

I use Mercury Thin Flex and Mercury Medium Flex CA. It is considered "pure" CA as others have additives in them. It makes a big difference in the quality of my CA finishes since I switched to Mercury Adhesives CA products. The Flex CA's were specifically formulated to be used as a CA finish so I'm told.

edstreet

I use Mercury Thin Flex and Mercury Medium Flex CA. It is considered "pure" CA as others have additives in them. It makes a big difference in the quality of my CA finishes since I switched to Mercury Adhesives CA products. The Flex CA's were specifically formulated to be used as a CA finish so I'm told.

Technically it's the reverse of what you said. Yo have the concept down but the tech is opposite. Pure ca is thin and brittle and clouds like crazy. Adding ingredients like plasticizers makes it flexible. Adding acid makes it less dependent on environmental humidity and less reactive in general, adding the plexiglas component makes it medium or thick depending on the ratio.

lhowell