CA Durability?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

its_virgil

I really don't understand why shellawax, crystal coat, mylands, or any other friction polish, french polish, or others would be used over a nice CA finish. I know lots of penturners do it...I didn't say it wasn't good...just that I don't understand it. The friction polishes will not last...why use them? I just don't understand.
Do a good turn daily!
Don
Originally posted by hsingyihsingyi
<br />How durable is a CA finish? I usually put shellwax over the CA finish, but am not sure how durable they are. What has been your experience with it/them?
Thanks,

leehljp

Member Liaison
I am still kinda new at this but I used CA on my first pen about a year ago and treated the pen roughly - dropped it out of my pocket numerous times. I also put it in my pants pocket with loose change on occason. The CA took it well. It had a good thick coat on it. I think that uniform thickness is key.

RussFairfield

Passed Away 2011
In Memoriam
"How long will it last?", is a question that will apply to any finish that we can use.

CA glue has been in general use as a finish for pens for about 3 years that I know of and a few of us have been using it longer than that. Those who have been using it that long are still using it, and that tells me that it is a durable finish. Only time will tell how much longer a life expectancy it will have.

The only other finishes that can match its durability are the polyurethanes. The most popular poly finish is Enduro because it is easier to use and dries faster than any other poly finish that I know of.

I use a shellac over the CA rather than a wax because it gives me a super high gloss, it adds a warmer feel to the surface when a potential customer picks up the pen, it lasts longer than wax, and it doesn't take any longer to apply. I also have a lot of shellac from my early days of making pens that has to be used up.