CA/BLO Finish

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rogerpjr

I'm new to this type finishing method. I've used straight CA for a long time on many different projects. Just what does the BLO do for the process?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Crickett

In my opinion it makes the finish dull. CA on its own makes a nice, clear, deep finish but the BLO contaminates it. Although the BLO acts as an accelerator, so does the acceleration meant for CA.

its_virgil

A chemical engineer with a Phd gave me this report: The CA acts as a crosslinker for the BLO - you basically get an accellerated linseed oil resin matrix with added durability and water resistance.

(Normally, oxygen generates radicals in the oil which then act as crosslinkers -
a much slower reaction, and resulting in a resin with other properties than a CA-crosslinked BLO resin).

I don't know what that means or how it works. Of course, I don't know how an electric motor works but the one my lathe sure sure does a nice job. CA does a nice job as a finish and even better (for me) with the use of boiled linseed oil. I find the finish easier with the oil. Others disagree and use no oil.

Do a good turn daily!
Don

Just what does the BLO do for the process?

ctubbs

I have tried it both ways and find that without BLO the applicator tends to attach itself more often to the blank. It appears that BLO also acts as a bit of lube. IMHO. YMMV.

Charles

garvan

There was another thread not long ago "Why BLO". In that thread there was reference to Russ Fairfields web site woodturnerruss.com. He explains it pretty well. Would post the link but do not know how. It my be worth reading it. It was for me.

its_virgil

like this: http://www.woodturnerruss.com and find the pages on finishes and finishing. The rest of the site is well worth the time spent there.
Don