CA Application Problem

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Irish Pat

I've just finished a pen and was starting to put it together when I noticed small WHITE lines in the barrel of the pen.I sanded up to 400,then cleaned up with sanding sealer to clean sanding marks,put on about 6 coats of thin CA,6 coats of med CA,sanded lightly with 400 Abranet then finished with micro 1500/12000,and now I have this problem.I used a small shot of accelerator between coats.
Please tell me what I'm doing wrong,Is it the cleaning with sanding sealer,is it reacting with the CA?:at-wits-end:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

fisher

did you by chance use air to blow out the dust .
And or shut the lathe down and sand the length of the barrow's.
i don't know how sealer act's with ca ,try one with out the sealer and do ca only after sand and air clean the barrels.
IM no expert ,but i will say when i started using air to clean the barrels after sanding ,my appearance of the pen's looked better.

robersonjr

The accelerator is causing the problem, let the CA dry naturally and avoid this problem, I had the same experience, now my finish is crystal clear.

StuartCovey

did you by chance use air to blow out the dust .
And or shut the lathe down and sand the length of the barrow's.
i don't know how sealer act's with ca ,try one with out the sealer and do ca only after sand and air clean the barrels.
IM no expert ,but i will say when i started using air to clean the barrels after sanding ,my appearance of the pen's looked better.

This is true. I blow my tubes off with compressed air before applying CA and it has made a big difference in my pens.

I'm also betting the sanding sealer is causing the ca to not bond very well with wood.

keithbyrd

On almost all woods now I blow off with air compressor, wipe down with alcohol and blow again. Then go through the CA finish process. Rarely have any trouble with CA.

ChrisN