Buying a lathe today!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Which Jet given my needs as described in post

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

TonyL

I'm a beginner - 3 pens to date.

I want to take advantage of the Jet sale which ends today.

I don't foresee the desire to make anything but pens.

I really want your opinions.

Do I need reverse? It will be mounted on my workbench, not on a stand. I have plenty of lighting.

What do you think? I also added a poll.

Thank you!!!!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

edicehouse

Well that is the funny thing with this, I don't foresee the desire to make anything else. . . How many of us had that in mind. LOL. The biggest thing I would suggest is try to get a variable speed, as long as it is not blowing your budget out of the water. Jet is a great brand and you can get plenty of add-ons. Since the things you don't foresee will start to happen,

southernclay

Hey Tony,

I have the Jet 1014. I wish it was VS for what it's worth. Also Georgia club meeting is this coming Saturday at Woodcraft, swing by and welcome to the forum

Warren

mchech

I bought the Jet 1221 a year ago and I'm happier than a pig in slop! I turn pens, bottle stoppers, key chains and other little stuff. It's bolted down to an older Craftsman work bench. The pen turning bug hit me about a year and a half ago. I'm a former scroll saw fanatic who made the mistake most make, I had to buy 3 saws before I was satisfied. My old Fisch midi lathe has the job of doing the blank drilling task. The vari-speed feature of the 1221 sure does make turning a pleasure and if I want to turn a mid sized bowl I have enough machine to do it. I guess you can say I'm satisfied with this one.

preacherman