Buying a lathe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I am new to pen turning and I am ready to buy a lathe. I have a few options and need advice. Option 1, Rikon 70-100 used, 17 months old with the metal stand for $400...the stand alone is normally $159, or option 2, buy a new 70-100 without the stand for $400. Option 3, is the Rikon variable speed version for $549 new. I am not big on buying used items but this seems like a good deal. Is it worth it to buy the variable speed or is 70-100 just fine? If I buy the used one which includes the stand what should I look for when I buy it? Any opinion on PSI's Turncrafter? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

WriteON

Variable Speed for sure. Buy new...can't go wrong. Used is used. PSI lathes...read the customer reviews. They seem to be very positive. And their customer service is very good. I bought a stand from PSI.

WELCOME ABOARD!!!!!!

edit....if money is not an object consider a Jet 1015VS or 1221VS

Last edited:

KenV

Having turned on several -

Rikon is good -- stable

Jets are good -- have an older Jet 10-14VS that I am satisfied with (and a big lathe)

Delta is good to turn on - switch takes a bit of getting used to. Parts for repair are a reported problem.

Variable Speed is a must for me -- will not go back to lots of belt changes. Usually leave the Jet 1014 in the middle and turn most things there.

Was not especially impressed with the one experience with turncrafter -- finishes were rough and movement of banjo was not as smooth as I like. Functional and works.

Cmiles1985

The Robust American Beauty is on sale at the SWAT symposium :biggrin: