Butchered 3 kits today

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
:mad:

As you may be aware, I am still new at this. I've made about 20 pens and most of them acrylic slims.

Today I decided to try a couple new kits from WoodPenPro.

First the Samoan (cigar) two-tone Ti Black. It took me 5 minutes of looking at pictures to figure out the bushing sequence. The instructions say the two largest go in the middle (largest in diameter or width??), so I screwed that up. Didn't figure it out until assembly and I couldn't get it apart easily. I grabbed the pliers and ended up ripping the threads off. :mad: Grabbed another of the same kit, determined to get it right since I was doing these with some nice spalted wood and the finish was the best I'd done yet. Wrecked that kit also.:mad::mad: Now I have 2 kits that are worthless - except as spare parts in the future.

Took a dinner break to calm down. Porterhouse at Longhorn steakhouse. Yummy:). So back to the lathe I go with a new attitude.

Decided to do a WPP Fishers of Men kit with BOW. The Pastor's B-day is this week. I actually was doing two of them - one for me, also. Can't mess this kit up, right??? Only one piece to it. No problem... Until the nib didn't go into the brass tube tightly enough and so I decided to add a couple drops of thick CA... (you know where this is going, don't you?)... That's right, it's supposed to be a little loose to turn the mechanism. I did the same foolish thing on the cap end. Now I have a gorgeous pen that won't work. Oh well, I'll use it as a showpiece only...

At least the second Fishers of Men came out great, so I will using that one for the gift...

Ordering some more from WPP tonight. At least their prices are great, even if I can't understand some of their instructions. I may call them before the next attempt.

Gregory of LearningByBurning Forest

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Texatdurango