Bushings

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

OutofTurnSam

Like I've said, I'm a novice with no clue what I'm doing.

Anyways, I've been googling like mad trying to find out what supplies I'll need to get started and what things I'll need once I know what I'm doing etc. One thing that keeps coming up is Bushings. And as much as I've read, I cannot find a single website (not even wikiepdia!) that will tell me the function of a bushing in regards to pen turning. Even the pictures I've looked at will not tell me where they are suppose to go or what they are for. It's like the industry has just deicided if you don't know what a bushing is then you have no business turning your own pens!

So, what are they for?

And more importantly, do I have to buy a new set of bushings every time I make a pen? Or is this a one time purchase per style of pen I'll be crafting? (1 for slimline, 1 for cigar, 1 for big ben etc)

Thanks for your help! I feel so silly for asking this >.>

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

srf1114

Bushing are small usally metal tubes that are the approximate size of the particular pen style they represent. You place them on the mandral along with your pen blank and turn the pen blank material down to match the size of the bushing.

this gets you real close to the final size for your pen, but most people will use a micrometer, to verify the final sizes.

Bushing are consumables, in that you should expect to replace them occasionally. Certainly not with every new pen of the same kit.

You will need to purchase a set of bushing for each difffernt type of pen kit you try to do. You should think of a way of organizing these to keep them seperate as well.

there are many advanced answers for your question, but these should help you get started.

PenMan1

The first answer you recieved was a good answer. Perhaps, something that will make this easier for you is to go to one of these sources.
http://www.pennstateind.com
http://www.woodcraft.com