Bushing Comparison Chart

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rangertrek

Since I am new to pen turning, I have only 1 set of bushings at this time. I just ordered 2 more pen kits with their bushing sets.

I know all you pros out there must have a bunch of bushing sets. Does anyone have a "comparison chart" that shows what bushings from different suppliers are about the same and what pen kits can be used with them?:confused:

I checked the library and found a few old threads that referenced a comparison chart, but did not find any actual information.

By the way, this is great site!:star: I have learned so much from the forums and the library. This site has probably cut my learning curve in half. Now I just need more practive with the tools!:rolleyes:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

LanceD

To save you time and a lot of hassle, why not just buy bushings for each kit you purchase. If you buy a Cigar kit from Woodcraft and a cigar kit from PSI get each of their bushings. At 4.00 to 6.00 per set that's a small price to pay not to have to worry if bushing A fits kit B or bushing B fits kit A.

Also I look at bushings as a disposable item. After a while sanding wears them down and eventually you'll need another set otherwise your pens will be underesized.

leehljp

Member Liaison
First of all, each different pen design has its own basic bushings. CSUSA makes a few different pens that use the same bushings.

I agree with Lance above to order a set for each pen model that you use. I use to order two sets if I were going to make a dozen or more - mainly because I occasionally get a slightly out of round or off centered bushing. I hate that, so I ordered a second set.