Bushing to Bushing Turning (Sierra Pen)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dale Seipp

I need help knowing how to set up the lathe for bushing to bushing turning of the Sierra Pen. From head stock to tale stock what is the configuration for the bushings and blank? Thanks for the help! I am a novice penturner.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Wheaties

Do you mean turning between centers? If so, all you need is a 60 degree live center for the tailstock, and a 60 degree deadcenter for the headstock. You can get that from penturnersproducts.com. A 3-4" rest is also nice to have for this.

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
The sierra has two bushings that are both the same. Doesn't matter how you set it up.

Now, the sierra VISTA or Wall street III has a larger and smaller. I BELIEVE the larger is the top, the smaller the nib. But, you can measure your nib (use a locking plier to keep the dimension, if you don't have calipers) and see which bushing fits it best - then you know you are correct.

WELCOME to IAP!!!

GPDMTR25

I highly recommend visiting Penturnersproducts.com web site

I need help knowing how to set up the lathe for bushing to bushing turning of the Sierra Pen. From head stock to tale stock what is the configuration for the bushings and blank? Thanks for the help! I am a novice penturner.

I can't say enough good things about his bushings. I highly recommend visiting his web site. Also on the right side where it says instructions click on that then click on bushings and he has some information along with what is listed below. You can also email him, he's very helpful with getting you started with what you need. Also if you register on his site as an IAP member you get a discount. As someone mentioned you'll need a smaller lathe rest. I purhcased a 3" rest from him.

http://www.penturnersproducts.com/
Typical use is a 60 degree dead center in the headstock and a 60 degree live center in the tailstock.