Bullet Pen Instructions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Thumbs

I think the two most important considerations are that your pen kit's nib end match the casing opening and that your tube be able to fit inside the casing. Knotty Harry is one of the most knowledgeable cartridge pen makers around. Check with him and some of the other guys who've posted bullet pen pix here and do a search as Greg said. [:)]

knottyharry

Hi Sam,
There are several in the forum who make the pens.
I am only one. I've seen some really nice ones from the others. And they all have their favorites, and their own particular way of making them.
I sent you an email.
Harry

TexasJohn

Hey Guys - I'm a newbie here also. Today I was talking with a friend of mine who is in the Border Patrol. I was telling him about the pens you guys make from spent cartridges. He asked if I could make one for him and I told him I would be willing to try. If you would'nt mind me jumping on the band wagon, I would appreciate any assistance you could provide - and I hope you don't mind me butting in. TIA Texas John

wudwrkr

Mannie. Thanks for the tutorial. I'm going to have to try this.

Now, how to get the shells? Guess I'm going to have to shoot something! [:D]

Royce Meritt

There certainly are lots of ways to make the bullet pens and people here who probably make better ones that I do. However, I have made a bunch and the following techniques work for me. (Sorry for the length of this post. Sometimes I just like to hear myself "talk".)

1. I use .308 cal. casings. The nib fits nicely and these casings are only a VERY tiny bit shorter than a slimline tube. This extra tube length is easily trimmed away.