building an antler catcher

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

GouletPens

At my house I typically see 8-10 deer a day grazing in my field and walking through my property. I'm too close to a public road to hunt them (I'm not a big hunter anyway), but a hunter buddy of mine said that if I build a box with an open front and strech bungie cords across them (using some kind of bait?), that the cords will help to catch any loose antlers that the deer might be in the process of shedding. Then of course, I could turn the antlers.

My question is, has anyone heard of/done this and does it work and do you have any tips? I want to do this responsibly without hurting them of course and the goal would be purely to get the antlers that would naturally fall of anyway.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Crashmph

I have heard of doing something similar to this before. You may want to talk to your local game warden to make sure you do not break any of your local state laws. I am still learning about the Virgina State Laws since I just moved here.

GouletPens

I have heard of doing something similar to this before. You may want to talk to your local game warden to make sure you do not break any of your local state laws. I am still learning about the Virgina State Laws since I just moved here.
Your local laws in Springfield are probably QUITE a bit different than in Hanover country where I am. My wife's from Centreville and I know some things are cooky up there are far as game hunting...

BullDurham

My guess, would be that the state game warden would not be to happy with this. What would you do it the deer got in and could not get him self out. them there is the question of baiting a deer, they do look on this as a fun thing to do.

Edit: Would do better to fine A Deer Hunt club And talk to them.

Edit: train your Dog to hunt the fallen antler.

Last edited:

Hayseedboy