Buffing system help

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

georgetyson

Hello fellow pen turners I need some help. I used a buffing wheel system for the first time today and I am not happy with the results. I put it together like the instructions said. I mounted it to my lathe and spun it up to 3000 RPM's and I placed the appropriate wax/polisher on it. Experimenting with this system I polished the top part of the pen with Triple E friction polish and then ran the whole pen and a pendent through all 3 buffing wheels. I think the results are horrible. Giving that this is my first time using this system I am going to chalk it up to operator error. A few questions that I have are:
Does the buffing system replace the need to use friction polish?
What is the approximate speed that I need to run it?
Are there any in-depth you tube videos on this system?

Any help would be grateful.

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimB

You don't say what system you bought or the size of the wheels. I don't have a lot of experience with buffing but 3000 rpm is very fast. The various systems have recommended rpm's. I believe for 8" wheels it is 1500 - 1750. For smaller wheels or buffing balls a bit higher rpm is recommended.

Also, i have never buffed a friction polish but if I did I would only do the final step, wax. I think the first 2 steps would just remove the friction polish leaving you with bare wood or even worse remove the friction polish in some areas and not others leaving a poor inconsistent finish.

The heat you generate when applying a friction polish helps it cure and shine therefore I would only do the wax.

Curly