Broke TWO fountain pens in one day!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

redfishsc

I managed to break a Churchill AND an El Grande--- the two I posted recently in the SOYP forum[V].

The El Grande was in my pant's pocket in a pen pouch (how about that for alliteration). I was sitting at the computer and leaned over to get something and I heard a "crack". [V]

Later on that evening, I was attending a preaching conference at Southeastern Baptist Seminary, where I am a student, and was taking notes rather furiously with the Churchill. SNAP. Broke in the same spot. Something can't be right! Yes, I was writing fast and harder than I shoulda been, but seems to me like these beefy pens should take a heck of a lot more than that.

Both of them broke on the plastic part of the nib assembly that pressed into the brass tube.

Has anyone else suffered this? If they break this easy, I don't know about selling them. These were the first of their kind I had made and were trial runs.

Meanwhile I will stick to my Gents and Emperors as my bigger FP's[B)]

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ctwxlvr

There has been reported problems of the parts of the churchill and elgrande breaking at that point I have yet to have one break my self.

Draken

Yep, happened to a customer of mine, seems to crack when the cap is screwed on too tightly, then it gives while being used. Berea says it can also happen if the part is pushed in without using the block they mention in their directions. I no longer purchase these pen kits due to this. The piece that is breaking is thin delrin plastic.

Firefyter-emt