Breaking Churchills!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

pmpartain

Hey,

I made an order of 35 or so Churchill pens for a company. They were given out in mid-January. So far I've had four of the pens break. The plastic part that screws into the cap is breaking off, just inside the metal trim ring. The nib screws into the inside of this piece. 3 of the pens were Sterling silver and 1 was Titanium gold. I watched one guy break his. He dropped it onto carpet and the cap broke off the body. Now the carpet was office type. super short pile and all, but the thing did break from dropping from about 3 to 4 feet high. Anybody else seen this?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Firefyter-emt

Geesh, I am about as rough as it gets on pens. I have carried one for about 2 months now and I love it (It takes a lot of a pen for me to say that too. In fact, this is the ONLY pen I fully like!) I work as an insurance appraiser in the field and I am outside. Mine has been dropped many times and the cap is removed at least 50 times a day. I wear sweaters a lot and the pen also spends a lot of time in my jeans front pocket.

Very odd, but let us know what you find..

ashaw

I had the same problem with the El-Grande. I had it happen only to one batch of 5.
Do not know if it was because too much pressure was being applied to coupler when the cap was being put on. But the last batch I made (Over a 1 year ago) I have had no problems. Just brought some churchills to see if I like them.

Ligget

I made a Churchill for my wife, she had it a week and I got it back last night broken. It was a Sterling Silver rollerball, the plastic part that screws into the cap broke in two![:(!]
She put it into her handbag with some other things (purse/wallet etc..), when the pen was removed to be used it was broken.
Never happened with any other pen style before.

pmpartain