Boiling Ebony

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Randy_

A question was asked over at Yahoo and no one ever came up with a full answer. The basic concern was about whether boiling ebony blanks would reduce or eliminate the cracking problem. Someone suggested that the blanks be turned without gluing in the tubes, removing the tubes and letting the blanks dry some more. It was pointed out that the turned blanks would probably shrink a bit and the holes would have to be redrilled or, at least, reamed out a bit....pretty tough to do with the paper thin turned barrels.

I have no experience in this aspect of pencrafting; but the following occurred to me and was posted at Yahoo....

Just thinking out loud since I have exactly zero experience in this
area. A blank that has been drilled and turned; but not glued is
going to be relatively fragile. What about drilling the blanks and
then letting them sit or boil them or microwave them. That way, they
could dry from the inside and the outside and could probably be
redrilled if necessary without such a great risk of ruining them??

I never got any response so thought I would see if anyone here has an opinion. Is the above a good...or bad...idea and has anyone ever tried anything similar? Thanks.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Daniel

Randy,