Blowouts on New Lathe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

vtgaryw

I was turning some of Smitty's Cabellero pens (Jr Gent II style) today on my relatively new Rikon 70-220, and ended up blowing out 3 different blanks. Each one was the short end, with the 12mm hole (I actually used a 15/32 - where was that darned 12mm bit anyways.)

One blowout was a coolibah burl, which upon further review, I probably should have stabilized, it had more imperfections in it than I thought.

The 2nd was olive wood, and the 3rd was inlace.

Disclaimer: I'm not a newbie, I've turned thousands of pens on my old Shop Fox lathe. I thought I was long past blowouts, except for the occasional defective blank or wandering attention/hurrying.) I haven't blown out an acrylic blank in I can't remember when.

The lathe is setup perfectly as far as I can tell. Perfect alignment, as true as can be.

I've turned maybe a couple of dozen pens on it before now, without any problem.

Was I just having a bad day or is every lathe so different you just have to get used to it? This lathe has so much more torque than my old one, I could stall that thing in a heartbeat, but still, with sharp tools and a little care it made great pens.

Any ideas?

Gary

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KenV

My bet is that you were calibrated to the older lower power lathe. That comes with all the senses including hearing and feeling. Those senses are not tuned to the torque and you are coming more aggressive on "auto pilot".

Pay attention to your form and techniques. Go back to basics and get turned to the new gear.

From your wording you are already thinking about it.

MTViper