BLO/CA Finish

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Old Griz

Passed Away Oct 4, 2013
In Memoriam
I have heard a lot about a BLO/CA finish.. but can not get any info on it... It has been mentioned a lot on another penturning forum, but they don't seem to be willing to answer my question about it... SO I thought I would ask the experts here...
From what I was able to get out of the conversations it appears you use the blo and ca at the same time.. but I would like to know the actual procedure before screwing up a nice pen.
Thanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

timdaleiden

I am no expert of this finishing method, but I will try to help. BLO, boiled linseed oil, is found in Watco danish oil (I am not sure if it can be purchased any other way). After you do all of your sanding, apply the Danish oil to the pen, let it dry a bit, and then using the same applicator (Bounty or Viva paper towel)with a combination of the oil, and CA, go over the pen. The oil helps to get an even application of the CA, and it acts as a mild accelerator.

One word of caution here. BLO, can cause paper towel to spontaniously start on fire. I actually saw one start to smoke, and nobody had warned me that this may occur. If I had read the warning label on the can (duh), I might have dowsed it in water (after use) as suggested.

If am wrong about any of this, somebody will chime in and correct me. The lack of responses over at the Yahoo forum, was probably due to the fact that it was covered pretty extensivly lately. Don Ward may have just gotten tired of explaining it. A search through the archives, which can be found on the front page of this forum, with "finish" in the body or subject lines, may help you out too.

Hope this helps.

jeff

Administrator
Staff member