Is it BLO/CA or CA ?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Mac

I have noticed ,that some pens ,in the show your pens , look like they are finished with a BLO/CA finish and they say they are a CA finish. Is it my eyesight or do some not know the difference, or do you think, there is a difference?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jbostian

I have wondered if there is a difference or not. I am new to turning and just started using the CA finish. Two local people have shown me how they apply a CA finish and neither of them use BLO. I have seen a CA/BLO finish in person and have compared it to a CA finish without BLO and I cannot tell a difference. I was wondering if one method is more durabe then the other. Hopefully some one with more experience will chime in and help clarify the differences.

Jamie

nate peel

I have done both. It seems to just be a personal preferrence.When you talk about ca finish you will get as many processes as you have penturners.. The BLO helps me get a more consistently good finish

Bree

The BLO lubricates the finish making it easier to smooth and more importantly it accelerates the curing of the CA. A little BLO goes a long way to getting a finish that requires very little sanding because the finish is glassy smooth to start with. The acceleration of the BLO makes the curing very fast so you get two benefits.

The BLO has no affect on the wood because it is applied after the CA has been applied. It technically speaking doesn't touch the wood. It may give a little amber tinting to the blank compared to CA with no BLO but I have not really noticed any great difference. It works with the wood in most cases.

If I were turning a white Holly pen and wanted max whiteness, I might do CA only. But for 99% of projects I prefer CA/BLO.

My $.02
:wink::wink::wink:

dalemcginnis

Local Chapter Leader