Blank Stabalization process

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

jehharris

I am fascinated with stabalized blanks! I love turning them and have tried a few methods at home. I am interested in the true process and where I can find information on how the pros do it. I have performed several searches for this and have found little to no information. On the forums it is either taboo or a great mystery. **It's very expensive**too much equipment**dangerous**etc... I guess that's all relative. I have access to cash and as an engineer I love to figure things out. I want to do this for fun and possibly on a small scale. I have access to several local mills and am always being given or buying burls and wood that definitely could be stabalized. I use CA but that is time consuming. I think it would be nicer for me to do a batch at a time. I know several peopel that would have someone local do this for them if there was a local source for the process.

I have a general concept but just cannot find anything concrete. Is there anyone out there willing to share their knowledge or point me in the correct direction? I am interested in the resins, plastics, ploymers, etc that are used and their pros/cons. (I assume that there are several. I have turned many and I can tell a distinct difference in smell from some suppliers to the next). I am also interested in equipment, process, parameters, etc...

I really appreciate any help you may be in sharing your knowledge and experience.

Bless,

Jim

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Jim, go to the articles using the link fromt he homepage and look for STABILIZING WITH POLYURETHANE: Lee Biggers. Think this will get you started. Also use the search link for stabilizing and be sure to check the archive box. Enjoy

wdcav1952

Activities Manager Emeritus
Jim,