Black Palm Turning

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Seer

Any suggestions on how to turn Black Palm? I picked up a blank the other day and it weighs a ton and feels hard as a rock, it also appears to have been stabilized. I have heard wild stories about this wood and since I am new at this I sure would appreciate any suggetstions.
Thanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Turn Black Palm just like any other wood, just have really really sharp tools. The pieces I turned the chips/chaff/whatever they're called when you cut them away, are almost like sand as it comes off the blank... if it's stabilized, my be more like a plastic though.

fiferb

Sharp tools and light cuts. The "straws" of wood fiber are larger in diameter than most woods and may need to be filled with CA or sanding sealer. You won't get ribbons of wood but instead a very fine dust.

jskeen

Palm wood is always very heavy and dense. I've never seen anybody selling stabilized palm, but there is a first for everything. The structure is exactly like a handfull of pickup sticks glued together with a mixture of yellow glue and sawdust. The black straws are very hard and dense, and tend to splinter, and the matrix tends to be dry and much softer. Sometimes a black straw will want to break loose from the matrix rather than cutting and that makes a mess. If you catch it early enough, ca it back in place and keep going. For drilling, if the blank is much larger than the tube, you should be ok, just go slow, clear the bit constantly, and if you are doing a two piece pen, cut the halves to length plus a fudge factor before drilling, rather than trying to do it in one fell swoop. If the blank is smaller and you are using a larger kit, you might consider wrapping the blank in a couple layers of gauze and soaking with med ca, then wrap in a piece of paper to pull everything nice and tight, let dry, trim paper and then drill.