Which is better?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I am just beginning and have a quick question. Reading how different people turn their pens some say they turn on the center while others use a mandrel. I pick things up pretty quick so for a rookie what would be a better way to start?

Exicited to start - better half is letting me order my Delta 46-460 on the 1st...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Downside of turning between centers---bushings are more expensive.
Can only do one half of a two part pen, at a time with the commercially available bushings.

Upside--bushings are accurate.
Finishing is easier.

PenMan1

Ummmm. 7.3 is better than 6.0. Actually, turn between centers.

I agree with Ed, that many times (at least for the products that I make), that mandrel turning is a MUCH better process. Additionally, closed end pens are virtually impossible to do well, tbc.

For example, when I am making a custom pens with two barrels where that the flairs and designs must meet and match exactly, etc (I rarely turn anything bushing to bushing) turning between centers actually makes this process much more difficult and substantially less precise.

With tools such as the Beall Collet Chuck, JohnnyCNCs bushings ( which work equally well, if not better on a mandrel), bent mandrels, out of concentric barrels are things of the past.

When "making pens for a living" TBC at least doubles your time, and IMHO, gives back very little in (if any) improvement of product. CA finishing TBC is also frustrating trying to get the same depth of finish on each barrel. A set of eliminator bushings and a mandrel fit this bill quite nicely.

Respectfully submitted.

Last edited:

nsfr1206

I bow to experience:) I have just had oor problems with a mandrel. I have had them tbc too, though. I agree, if trying to match barrels it would be easier on a mandrel.

Last edited:

nsfr1206

(I rarely turn anything bushing to bushing) quote