Best Wood and Kits for Pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DonFaulk0517

What is your favorite wood and pen style? I am just getting into pen turning and there are too many choices... which are the best (moderately priced lits) and best wood choices?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

witz1976

What is your favorite wood and pen style? I am just getting into pen turning and there are too many choices... which are the best (moderately priced lits) and best wood choices?

Not sure what you consider moderately priced, but I like the Sierras, the Flat top rollerballs & fountains, & Jr. Gents. As for wood. Yes to all, but really any burl is nice, for something really nice I like thuya & amboyna burl. But I also have some cherry, apricot, olive, Ironwood...yea I see your point :biggrin::biggrin::eek:

mredburn

IAP Activities Manager
Staff member
If your just starting there are several nice woods that are not too expensive to work with that still have great style and figure and wont break the bank. Walnut, Cherry, maple, Oak,they can have great figure at a buck or less apiece. You may be able to find local hardwoods pretty cheap also.
Mike

Last edited:

SDB777

Wow! This such a loaded question...at least for me.

I like the Sedona/Baron kits in either rollerball or fountain.
I like just about any wood that has some figure to it(crotch/burl), but the crotch might fall into the 'moderate' price range.....

Scott (don't think I've put $12 blank on a slimline) B

toddlajoie

I've gone through about 4 or 5 "favorite" kits in the year or so I've been turning.

First Favorite: Euro Ballpoint - Like a slimline, but with a bit more style (slims with style take a bit more thought/effort than I had in the beginning, and maybe still...)

Second Favorite: Sketch Pencil - I have a lot of artist type friends, and this is such a unique writing instrument that everyone I know wanted one. Real easy to make, and a substantial feeling piece in the end...